Clarification on mini-Myth capabilities

Announce/Discuss projects you are working on for MiniMyth

Moderator: Pablo

Post Reply
slaine
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:49 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Clarification on mini-Myth capabilities

Post by slaine »

Hey Guys,

I've been building a mythical PVR for a while now. Mythical, in that it's all being done in my head and I've not actually set about spending any cash as of yet.

Anyway, the plan is to build a full featured PVR for use in the living room. Large HDD, multiple tuners etc. As part of my musing about where I could take it from there, I had a cunning plan for "satalite" MythTV setups around the house.

Currently, we've got analogue TV delivered by Cable with one point installed in the living room. This is where the main PVR box will be situated. We don't have any other TV's around the house, but I expect that to change in the near future. Rather than wiring up the house with extra TV points, I was thinking of using MythTV frontend boxes with WiFi connections.

What I'm not sure on is, whether MythTV frontend, as in mini-Myth, can control the tv tuner in the MythTV backend (as will be installed in my main PVR in the living room) and if so, will 54Mbps WiFi will be good enough for watching live TV.

That way, I can construct a small silent Via box and have it behind the TV only needing power points. Technically, economics my dictate that it's cheaper to just get some guy to install the extra TV points and a booster, but I'd like to know if my plan is doable.

Thanks in advance for any comments/suggestions
--
Glen
delboy711
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 6:50 pm
Location: UK

Post by delboy711 »

Yes. You can have any number of myth front end boxes all sharing/controlling TV tuner cards in any number of mythbackend servers. - In my setup I have one backend with two tuner cards being accessed by three front ends one of which is mini-myth.


Myth does work over 54Mbps wireless, an MPEGII stream from my DVB tuner cards needs about 8Mbps of bandwidth, but there are a few caveats.

- The extra delay variability of wireless can cause the myth buffers to underflow causing TV programmes to stop suddenly. There is a patch to fix this in myth-0.18. I have not tested if the patch is still needed in myth-0.19

- Running mini-myth over wireless is problematic since mini-myth boots its kernel over Ethernet using PXE. It could not boot over wireless unless there was already a working kernel with wireless driver already on the mini-myth hardware. One way around this problem is to boot from a CF flash card in the minimyth box. I have done this, it worked, but does require a custom kernel and a bit of tweaking.

I gave up trying to run mini-myth over wireless. It was too much trouble. Now the only wireless front end I have is running a standard Linux distro.

Good luck with your myth project.
slaine
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:49 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Thanks

Post by slaine »

Hey delboy711,

Thanks for the reply. Regarding the mini-myth/wireless problem. Yes, I can see that being a problem. However, I had planned on trying to use the distro from a CF card. Last time I looked over the forums here people seemed to be able to do it. If there's a HOWTO somewhere that would be helpful.

Nice to know that the idea should work.

Thanks
--
Glen
Eduardo
Contributor
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 6:30 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by Eduardo »

I guess you could boot off a CD if you wanted to save time in trying the wireless performance.

One check for wiring, I found that the way my house was wired, that the phones were all installed with a dedicated wire (CAT 4 - 8 pairs) to each room. I split all my phone jacks (1 pair) to be phone and ethernet (2 pair) without running a wire. Maybe you'll be as lucky.

Not the best wire to get 100 Mbps, but does a damned good job with no new holes in the walls.
Eduardo
-- M10000-Ezra 512M minimyth-0.19 / AMD 1.1 GHz 512M PVR350 w/tvout Myth 0.19 knoppmyth.R5B7
Anavel
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:03 pm

Clarification on mini-Myth capabilities

Post by Anavel »

Hi delboy711,

there is also another (easy) way of doing it:
- use two routers in WDS mode (no need for wireless drivers).

Here's my setup at home:

Backend --> WRT54GS-1 --> WDS link --> WRT54GS-2 --> Frontend

That way, I can do PXE without any issues. And yes, I'm using WPA encryption for my WDS link.

If you're interested, I can give you more information on my setup.

Good luck.

Filippo
Eduardo
Contributor
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 6:30 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by Eduardo »

I think that would be a great addition if you could detail your setup.
Eduardo
-- M10000-Ezra 512M minimyth-0.19 / AMD 1.1 GHz 512M PVR350 w/tvout Myth 0.19 knoppmyth.R5B7
wasp
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 4:44 am

wireless mini myth

Post by wasp »

Hi

Just thought you may want to look at using
your house power supply there are a number
of company's making a product which
you plug into your wall sockets.

They are quoting 85Mpbs

Just google for ethernet over power

Regards Martyn
Anavel
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 3:03 pm

Clarification on mini-Myth capabilities

Post by Anavel »

Hi guys,

Just a quick note, all information from my setup has been collected from various web sites. I didn't create anything :-)

Here is my setup:

Backend:
P3 Celeron 900MHz with 512MB Ram
Segate 160GB Hard-drive
FC4 with PVR-250 (using Jarod's guide at http://wilsonet.com/mythtv/fcmyth.php)
DHCP / TFTP server (for PXE) (using Lmatter's guide at http://www.viaarena.com/default.aspx?Pa ... ticleID=52)
Lirc (connected to an STB using the now defunt http://www.lircsetup.com)
160GB Hard-drive
Minimyth images (many thanks to the contributors of this forum)

Frontend:
Epia ME-6000 with 512MB ram
SHVS connected to my Denon Amplifier

Now, for the network connections:

2 X WRT54GS using Thibor's firmware (http://www.thibor.co.uk) connected in WDS with WPA-PSK encryption. Very easy to setup, just follow Thibor's guide (or head to hhtp://www.linksysinfo.org for a wealth of information on routers)

The interesting part is that my frontend does not need to have a wireless adapter, I'm simply connecting the onboard ethernet to the router. The only wireless is between my 2 routers. And yes, wireless clients (pc, laptop) can also connect to the network (this can be changed in the configuration)

Network topology:
Backend -> WRT54GS-1 <- WDS -> WRT54GS-2 -> frontend

Since I don't have HD content, I can't tell if a 802.11g connection is sufficient, but for SD, it works very well.

I don't know if it's detailed enough (first or second time posting ;-) ). I can always elaborate more on configurations and such.

Best regards,

Filippo
slaine
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:49 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Post by slaine »

Hey Guys,

Sorry for the delay in getting back. Thanks for all the responses.

Hey anavel, that wireless setup was exactly what I'd been planning on using, nice to see someone who's gone ahead and done it.

Cheers,
--
Glen
hak
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:19 am

Re: Clarification on mini-Myth capabilities

Post by hak »

What about an android install, on a phone that will plugin a monitor 1024x768. The monitor I have is an LCD with builtin speakers.
This would be the smallest frontend surely? Would be nice to have a remote control to control myth. Also, the remote could have its own touchscreen/mouse to manoevur a cursor around the screen and to increase/decrease, as the laptops do nowadays (atom/eeepc).
Post Reply